Personal Injury Law in Wyoming
The state of Wyoming requires that in cases of personal injury, the plaintiffs must prove that the incident was caused due to the defendant’s carelessness or negligence. Plaintiffs must also prove that the defendant’s wrongdoing actually caused their damages and/or suffering.
Wyoming uses comparative negligence law with a modified comparative fault rule. This means any party that is 51 percent or more responsible for the incident is not allowed to collect losses. Any party that is 50 percent or less responsible is entitled to collect compensation, however, the total amount they are entitled to depends on their percentage of responsibility. If multiple parties are involved in the incident, those at fault are entitled to share cost of the suing party’s compensation due depending on each of their individual percentages of fault in the matter.
In the case of a consumer product personal injury lawsuit, Wyoming’s strict liability law may aid the plaintiff in finding justice. In order to win a personal injury lawsuit in these kinds of cases in Wyoming, the plaintiffs must prove that the product was made with one or more errors, which caused the consumer harm and damaged them in a substantial way. To get a successful result in a personal injury lawsuit over a flawed consumer product in Wyoming, the plaintiff must also prove that he/she was using the product in the correct way.
Defendants in a personal injury lawsuit are responsible for a number of things in most cases. For example, they are responsible for any payments made by the plaintiff relating to the personal injury case that is underway. The defendant is responsible for any funds lost by the suing party, any personal property damage, any bodily injuries or permanent personal damage, any pain either physical or emotional, and any other costs due to the personal injury lawsuit at hand, not including attorney’s fees which are paid out of the total settlement amount.
The statute of limitations in Wyoming for personal injury cases is four years, meaning that if there is no lawsuit filed within the first four years after the incident then there cannot be a lawsuit. Consult a qualified Wyoming Personal Injury Lawyer to see if you have a valid case before entering into any kind of lawsuit.
The article presented above is based on the best available data available and is for informational purposes only. Consult a qualified personal injury attorney before relying on any information presented here.
Major Cities in Wyoming: