Personal Injury Law in Texas
In order to file a personal injury claim in Texas there must be proof that the accused was acting in a dangerous manner and in doing so caused someone injury. Texas uses comparative negligence law, meaning that any party over 50 percent responsible for the incident is not allowed to collect losses. Joint and several liability law is also in effect in Texas, this means that the suing party is allowed to collect all of their compensation from any party more than 50 percent at fault in the matter.
In Texas consumer product cases, strict liability law is in effect. In order to win in these kinds of cases the suing party must be able to prove that the product was flawed in a dangerous way which caused the injury at hand, and that this injury caused by the flawed product caused the suing party monetary losses due to physical damages and or pain and suffering.
Defendants found responsible must pay compensation for all medical expenses, all work lost, any personal items that were damaged, any additional costs directly relating to the incident, personal injuries, and any pain and suffering relating to the incident.
In the cases of medical malpractice it is usually best to consult a trained medical doctor specific to the field in which the incident occurred.
The statute of limitations in Texas is two years. If a claim is not filed within two years a claim can no longer be filed. Consult a qualified Texas Personal Injury Lawyer to see if you have a valid case before entering into any kind of lawsuit.
The article presented above is based on the best available data available and is for informational purposes only. Consult a qualified personal injury attorney before relying on any information presented here.
Major Cities in Texas: