Personal Injury Law in Nebraska
In order to file a personal injury claim in Nebraska there must be proof that the accused was acting in a dangerous manner and in doing so caused someone injury. Nebraska uses comparative negligence law, meaning that the amount of compensation a party can collect is in direct correlation to the amount of carelessness they were acting under. Nebraska also uses a modified comparative fault rule, which entitles any persons involved, who were 50 percent or more responsible, to nothing. Any person who was 49 percent or less responsible is entitled to compensation, however, the compensation they can receive is lowered based on their percentage of responsibility.
In Nebraska consumer product cases, strict liability law is in effect. In order to win in these kinds of cases the suing party must be able to prove that the product was flawed in a dangerous way which caused the injury at hand, and that this injury caused by the flawed product caused the suing party monetary losses due to physical damages and or pain and suffering.
Defendants found responsible must pay compensation for all medical expenses, all work lost, any personal items that were damaged, any additional costs directly relating to the incident, personal injuries, and any pain and suffering relating to the incident.
In the cases of medical malpractice it is usually best to consult a trained medical doctor specific to the field in which the incident occurred.
The statute of limitations in Nebraska is four years. If a claim is not filed within four years a claim can no longer be filed. Consult a qualified Nebraska Personal Injury Lawyer to see if you have a valid case before entering into any kind of lawsuit.
The article presented above is based on the best available data available and is for informational purposes only. Consult a qualified personal injury attorney before relying on any information presented here.
Major Cities in Nebraska: